Change Role

Change Role

Change roles define access permissions for users in the Change module. ServiceDesk Plus Cloud MSP contains default change roles that are built into the application. You can also create custom change roles.

Role Required: SDAdmin

Default Change Roles 

Predefined Roles  
Default Users Assigned for the Roles  
Default Permissions  
Change Owner
Only technicians
Edit all change stages and approve the Implementation stage
Change Requester
All users
Edit the Submission stage
Line Manager
Only technicians
Approve the Submission stage
CAB(Change Advisory Board)
Users configured in approval under CAB Evaluation stage of Change
Edit the CAB Evaluation stage
Change Approver
Only technicians
Edit and approve all change stages
Implementer
Only technicians
Edit the Implementation stage
Reviewer
Only technicians
Edit and approve the Review stage
Change Manager
Only technician(s) with SDChangeManager role
View, edit, and approve all eight stages. Permissions are uneditable in this role.
UAT Owner
All users
Edit and approve UAT stage.
Info
Change Manager and Change Approver are the only roles with permission to approve CAB Evaluation. This particular permission is disabled for other default roles and it will be disabled for custom roles you create.

Create Change Role 

  1. Go to Setup > Customization > Change Management > Change Role.
  2. Click New Change Role.
  3. Enter a name for the change roles. This is a mandatory field.
  4. Describe the change roles details and usage.
  5. Choose who can be assigned to the change role - all users or only technicians.
  6. Define access permissions by selecting the access level check boxes for various change stages. You can enable all access permissions for all stages.
Access Permissions
Description
View
Enables the user only to view the change requests. They cannot perform any operation.
Edit
Enables the user to perform edit change requests. The user cannot perform add/delete operation.
Info
By default, View permission is enabled for all change roles 
  1. Click Save.

Edit/Delete Change Role 

To edit/delete change role, click beside a change role name.