Approval Settings

Approval Settings

Approval settings allow you to define approval configurations for requests, changes, and releases and automate the approval process.
 
Role Required: SDAdmin
 

Configure Approval Settings 

  1. Go to Setup > General Settings > Approval Settings.
  2. Use the module drop-down to select your preferred module. Configure the following options per your requirements:
    1. Select if you want to mandate approval comments.
    2. Select if you want to notify pending approvers when no one has acted on the approval.
    3. Select if you want to automatically approve if the requester is the approver.
    4. Select if you want to automatically approve if the same approver has approved in the previous stages.

 Approval Process Settings 

Requests

Configure how a request behaves during the approval process, including status and timer updates while awaiting approval, after approval or when the approval is rejected.

  1. The timer can be paused for requests pending approval to minimize SLA violations. Select the request status from the drop-down for which the timer must be stopped.
  2. After the request is approved, you can choose to start the timer and update the request status. Select the request status from the drop-down.
  3. If the request is rejected, you can move the request to any of the completed statuses. Select the status from the drop-down.
  4. Select if you want to restart the approval process for a service request after the resource in the service request is updated. 


Problems

Configure how approval notifications are triggered for problems:

Instantly at approval level creation
  1. Approval notifications are triggered automatically as soon as approval levels are created.
  2. Approval notifications are sent regardless of whether the previous approval levels are approved or denied.
 
Automatically based on previous approval level
  1. Notifications are automatically triggered only after all previous approval levels are approved.
 
Manually based on previous approval level
  1. Approval notifications can be sent manually only after all previous approval levels are approved. If any previous approval level is denied, sending the approval notification will be restricted.