Approvals

Approvals

Define approvers for various approval levels required to proceed or complete release processes. Technicians can handle release approvals based on their permissions.
Role Required: SDAdmin, SDReleaseManager, users with Edit permission to the respective release stage.
Info
Approvals can also be sent to MSP requesters. 
In the Approvals tab in a release stage,
  1. Click Add Approval Level.
  2. Provide a name for the approval level.
  3. Choose the approval rule from the drop-down. The available approval rules are:
    1. Anyone to Approve: Approval is granted if one of the approvers has approved; it gets rejected only when all approvers have rejected.
    2. Everyone to Approve: Approval is granted only when all approvers have approved; it gets rejected otherwise.
    3. First Response Action: Approval is granted only when the first-ever approver has approved it; it gets rejected otherwise.
    4. Majority to Approve: Approval is granted only if the majority of approvers agree; it gets rejected otherwise.
    5. % to Approve: Approval is granted if the specified percentage of approvers provide approval; it gets rejected otherwise.
  4. Select the approvers. You can select approvers from Release Users and Roles, Organization Roles, CAB, Technician Groups, and Users categories.
  5. Click Save.

If you are an approver, you can take approval actions in the Approvals tab. Click Approve or Reject in the Status column.

Click to delete the approval.
 
To add more approvers,
  1. Click Add Approvers under the approval level name.
  2. Select the approvers and click Save.
 

Delegate Approvals   

Approval delegation allows you to designate a user to approve in your absence. After delegating the approval, you cannot approve or reject it. However, you can revoke the delegation and take action if the approval is pending. You can delegate approval to only one user.
 
To delegate approvals, SDAdmins must enable appropriate permissions under Setup > Automation > Delegation. Learn more.
Info
 While ad-hoc delegation is enabled in the global delegation, technicians with SDReleaseManager role can delegate or revoke all approvals within their scope
  1. Click   beside the approver name.
  2. Select a user from the drop-down and click Delegate. The delegates cannot reassign the approval request. They can either approve or reject it.
  3. To revert delegation, click Revoke Delegation below the approvers.
 
The delegates will be notified when the delegated approval is revoked.
 
To configure revoke notification, go to Setup > Automation > Notification Rules > Other Notifications. Under Delegation Notifications, enable Notify backup approver when the approval delegation is revoked.
 
You can also delegate approvals from My Pending Approvals  in the header and the approval link received via email.